Uninspired

All week I’ve been sitting here looking at this blog, wondering what to write about. Okay, not ALL week, but certainly for several minutes at a time, several times a day. I have made at least one decision about it: I’m going to do my photo memes on my photo blog. So that’s progress right there.

Last week we all suffered in the heat… it was over 43C (that’s 110F) for three days in a row. On Friday it was 45C (113F). The whole city ground to a halt, we had no electricity, there were hardly any trains running, some morons started a couple of bushfires (30 people lost their homes, just because of some idiot). This week it’s been much cooler – only in the 30’s, temperature-wise – but on Saturday we are expecting 43C again. I never thought I’d see the day when I thought 34C was cool!

Our other cat – poo-face Salvador – has been giving us some problems lately. He’s quite old, about 16 years, and is suffering from dementia, but in the last two months his health has gone downhill quite dramatically. He’s painfully thin – you can feel every knobble in his spine – and has no muscle tone whatsoever. He is unable to jump the back fence any more, is not eating properly (except when ham is involved, that never seems to change) and his liver and kidneys are not functioning properly. He had a vet appointment this morning, but of course disappeared and we had to reschedule. I just don’t know how much longer we will have him around. Oh, and he’s been pooing in bad places, like the wardrobes.

Surely it can’t get much worse.

2 responses to “Uninspired

  1. Shmoo February 5, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    I’m sorry about the heat, the morons, and Poo Face Salvador being sickly and all.

  2. Debstar February 6, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Poor poo face. I never thought I’d see an animal with dementia. I believe it’s happening right in front of me. Today I left the dog inside when I went shopping for one hour. She has torn the screen door to shreds. I am not amused.

