The wrap up

So after the excitement of the neighbour’s parties last weekend, we had further dramas this week. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but there is a big mosque on the corner of our street. Mostly I don’t notice it, unless I happen to be home at lunchtime on Fridays, which is prayer time and the street is packed with cars parked very badly, including often across my driveway. But mostly it’s fine. They are very quiet and even when they have functions with hundreds of people attending (like for the end of Ramadan) we don’t even know they’re there.

However, the party the neighbours across the road held last Saturday night obviously offended someone from the mosque greatly. What I didn’t know was that the neighbours had the decency to turn down their bongo drum thumping music during prayer time. It was almost nice of them! But, it wasn’t enough to appease some. On Wednesday night when I was coming home from my massage, there were two police cars, about 8 cops and a million people out in the street. Someone from the mosque had attacked the father from across the road, and had knocked him unconscious by hitting him in the head with a rock. Then he attacked the son (it was his engagement party that caused all the problems) and ran away. The father was taken to hospital in an ambulance. I gather he’s okay now though.

I should point out that the head of the mosque at the end of my street is in fact the head of Islam for the whole of Australia. He will NOT be pleased that someone from his group has taken it upon himself to dispense some revenge. I don’t know if they ever caught the person. But there was even a helicopter searching for him that day.

I could do without this kind of excitement.

But today, finally, our new red chair arrived! We ordered it on 3 November 2008. They said it would take four to six weeks. It’s taken nearly five months. Lucky I like it so much. Pictures later.

3 responses to “The wrap up

  1. jen March 21, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    like people need any other reason to hate/target muslims?my in-laws have a local mosque as well. on 9/11, my father-in-law (a lutheran pastor) went down and prayed with the men there.i grew up with a greek orthodox church down the street. every september, they had a greek festival and they would give complimentary passes to all the neighbors as a thank-you for putting up with the noise.

  2. Steve, Kat, & Wilbur March 21, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Wow, that’s a lot of excitement. We pretty much having nothing going on here except my neighbor coming over to tell me that Wilbur sneaks into their house and won’t leave.

  3. Shmoo March 22, 2009 at 1:54 am

    Of course, as with a lot of things, the stupidity of this one member will reflect badly on all of them. Its a shame that we can’t consider the individual but must lump everyone into some kind of “thing” to blame and hate.

