Eating out

This weekend just gone I ate out a lot. It just happened that way; I don’t really plan these things.

On Friday my work colleagues and I had lunch at the place where we are having a work function in a few weeks. We wanted to check out the menu and have a chat to the owner about things. Zio’s is a lovely place; we had a great lunch and then the owner told me we didn’t have to pay because I am a good customer. Thank you very much! I had spinach and ricotta gnocchi with seared prawns, then orange and passionfruit tart for dessert. With a glass of wine. Delicious! I’ve been there before and I’d go again.

Saturday night the boy and I went out for dinner to Attica. Someone he works with had said it was excellent so we thought we’d give it a go. And the food was outstanding. The service, however, was slow. We arrived at 7.30pm and did not get to finish our meal until 11pm. We did have the 8 course degustation menu (they make you have that on a Saturday night) but it was painfully slow. Lucky the food was delicious. I would definitely go again one day but I would request a table NOT in the corner (I spent the whole evening facing a wall: not very exciting) so at least I could people watch whilst waiting for my food.

Sunday some friends and I had arranged to have lunch at the Melbourne Wine Room (what an outstanding website lol). I was under the impression (mostly from their advertising) that the Melbourne Wine Room was terribly glamorous and special. It wasn’t. The food was nice but nothing special, and the service was a bit slapdash although friendly. The actual space was very casual. I would probably go there again but with lower expectations.

One response to “Eating out

  1. Sitka, Tia, & Cornelia Marie March 24, 2009 at 11:44 am

    LOVE the background! And the website for the wine place… I have no words for it, lol!

