Help me I’m freezing to death

Okay maybe a bit of an exaggeration but holy crap it’s been cold this week! Melbourne is not meant to be like this! Yesterday, the temperature struggled to 10degC. The wind chill factor took it right back down to 5degC. That is COLD people. Bring back summer. Maybe we should move to a warmer country. Or at least a house with central heating. Today, by comparison, it’s a balmy 12degC. But with the wind, 8degC. God help me.

This morning, after suffering through too many freezing mornings in the bathroom (I’ve already mentioned the lack of central heating, right?), we went to the lovely people at Retravision and bought a heater for our ensuite. It’s small, portable and energy efficient, AND it has a timer so we can program it to come on and warm up the bathroom before I get out of bed in the mornings. Bliss.

How long do you think it will take Huffle to move in there?

Whilst out on our heater buying mission, we decided to look for a new breakfast place. Our favourite Filter has mysteriously closed down and we have been unable to find somewhere else that makes good Eggs Benedict. We tried a place across the road from Retravision and I said I would be the guinea pig for the Eggs Benedict today. The sauce came out of a jar. There is NO excuse for that, lazy cafe owners! Disappointing, because aside from the sauce in a jar, the rest was good. Excellent coffee, good service, nicely poached eggs. Dammit. Is it that hard to find good Eggs Benedict?

Apparently so.

But we are not giving up! And if you can be bothered, you’ll be reading about the search for good Eggs Benedict here for weeks to come!

3 responses to “Help me I’m freezing to death

  1. Trish June 13, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    http://thebreakfastblog.blogspot.com/2008/01/top-20-melbourne.html

    From a jar?? Maybe they ran out of eggs? I just can't believe it. There must be a reason…

    Have you seen the Breakfast Blog? They have a list of top 20 Melbourne brekky places. It's 18mths old but you never know.

    (I don't know if that link will post… you could just do what I did and google 'breakfast blog melbourne' and find it that way)

  2. Greyscale Territory June 13, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I agree about freezing Melbourne! Even the sunlight seems cold!

    As for brekky, I can't remember the last time I went out for brekky! Just can't be on the agenda till I win Lotto!

  3. KZK June 14, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Zimmie wants to know if he can come over. 🙂

