An Update

It’s been a while since I wrote anything useful here. Informative, even. So here is what’s been happening recently.

The boy is still sick. Last night I went to the chemist to get him some cold and flu tablets, and some throat lozenges, and the lady told me if he was coughing up phlegm to go to the doctor. Well he is, but he won’t. Apparently if a man suggests going to the doctor, he will go. What can I do?

Saturday night I went to see Ross Noble perform. He would have to be just about the funniest man on the planet. I laughed til I cried for over two hours. If he ever tours near you, make the effort.

Sunday I woke up at 5am with a migraine. After taking three varying doses of medication (all with heavy duty codeine including the prescription stuff which I only take when I am desperate) I finally managed to get out of bed at 4.30pm. Still not feeling great, but at least human again. I’m okay today, but just with a feeling of slight fuzziness…

Also: my body is falling apart. I went to the Chiropractor last Friday, and on Monday night again, and again next Monday night, for a shoulder thing. It’s been feeling wrong for a while now so I finally made the appointment. It’s weird, because the sore shoulder is the not the side that I do everything with – it’s not the carrying-the-handbag shoulder, it’s not my mouse arm, it’s not the chopping vegetables side, in fact all I use my left arm for is to hold the hairdryer every other day. Hardly a stressful occupation. Anyway he says one more adjustment should do it, but I have to make sure I sit straight at my desk and do stretches often. Right.

Whilst visiting my nice chiropractor, I had him look at my thumb, which has been sore forever. Turns out I probably dislocated it once and although the joint popped back in right away, it’s going to give me grief as I get older. Great. He did something weird to it which hurt but then felt better. I still can’t bend it like the other thumb but it certainly doesn’t hurt as much!

Sheesh, you’d think I was 65 the way I’m carrying on here.

Other news: I had a coffee with my father yesterday. He thinks he might get another dog one day because he loves the companionship (I think it gives him someone to talk to when he fights with my mother lol). I suggested we go visit the RSPCA when he’s ready, and find a nice dog that needs a good home. He thought that was a good plan. It will be good for him, and for a dog that needs a nice home, someone to walk with every day, stuff like that. He says he doesn’t want to do puppy training all over again and I can understand that. But it’s good news I think.

6 responses to “An Update

  1. Debstar June 30, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    My you get a lot of migraines. Have you ever tried out accupuncture for it? Hope the boy gets better soon.

  2. Debstar June 30, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Check out this funny You Tube Video.

  3. The OP Pack July 1, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Sorry about all the bad stuff but glad to hear your father is open to the idea of another pup. Get that man to the doctor and please feel better yourself.

  4. KZK July 1, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Ditto what the OP Pack said!

  5. Author July 4, 2009 at 1:24 am

    A rescue pup sounds just the ticket for your Dad.

  6. Shmoo July 6, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Ok lets see, I had three days of migraine with the typical right sided kill me now migraine recently, so check that.

    Broken foot, screwed up ankle matches chiropractor thing, check.

    left thumb messed up? You're 4 years late on that one, get with the program.

    Glad your dad is thinking about getting a shelter pup, that's really cool

    Shmoo

