Food report

Last night, I went out for dinner. I know, on a Tuesday! Can you believe it? Anyway, one of these friends is moving to Perth this weekend, and this was our last chance to catch up before she left.

Three of us had arranged to meet at 6pm at Longrain. It’s a Thai restaurant with a modern twist. Or something. I am allergic to peanuts so I try to avoid asian food as much as possible. The likelihood of asian food being cooked in peanut oil is too high for me to risk eating it. Clearly, I did NOT choose Longrain for dinner. But anyway.

I was a bit early, having spent the previous hour shoe shopping (more on that tomorrow). So I settled in at the bar with my vodka/lime/soda and played games on my iPhone for 15 minutes, waiting for the other two to arrive. Only I waited a lot longer than 15 minutes. It was more like half an hour. And I was not half an hour early. I was slightly annoyed by the time they showed up but I am nothing if not charitable and we were seated for dinner.

As previously mentioned, I am allergic to peanuts and sadly, 90% of the menu items had nuts in them. This left with me approximately three choices. I chose duck and sweet chili something-or-other. It was tasty but I had ignored the disclaimer in very small letters at the bottom of the menu which said that they could not guarantee that any dish would not contain traces of nuts. Wonderful. That explains the splitting headache I have this morning.

Oh and did you know that at Longrain, you can’t have your own table? No, they believe in communal dining and made us share a table with another group of three. What a crock. If I don’t know these people from a bar of soap what makes you think I would want to have dinner with them? It’s selfish and lazy.

I will not be going back to Longrain.

5 responses to “Food report

  1. KZK September 9, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Did you at least play cool games on the iPhone?

  2. Steve, Kat, & Wilbur September 9, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    The only thing I got from this story was that you were shoe shopping and you were not supposed to shop for shoes until after the end of the month. What's the scoop?

  3. barb September 9, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I have reached a "certain age" (read almost 55) when I now exercise my right to be a bit difficult when the situation calls for it. And I don't care if "they" don't like it. I would not have gone to a restaurant where I couldn't actually eat! Call me crazy.

  4. Shmoo September 10, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Friends don't let other friends wait, and know about allergies… I'm just sayin.

  5. Debstar September 10, 2009 at 7:41 am

    I agree with Barb entirely. Learn to say NO to people, especially friends. I'm sure your friend would have been happy to go somewhere else if you had explained your situation.

