Weekend Report

It’s been a relatively quiet weekend. Yesterday we did not much during the day, although we went to the garden centre late afternoon and bought Huffle her new parsley pot. Actually we bought three pots and planted two of them with cat grass, catnip and cat mint. The other one has no plants in it so she can sit in it and not kill anything.

Then we decided to go to the movies. We saw the new Quentin Tarantino movie, Inglourious Basterds. It was a typical Tarantino movie, full of blood and violence, and a jumpy story, but I enjoyed it. Maybe it was a bit too long though, at just over two hours. I thought Brad Pitt was quite good as Lt Raine, but the boy did not like his character at all. I did like the fact that I recognised Harvey Keitel’s voice in one scene (he has been in every single Tarantino film, as far as I know).

Today we went out for breakfast, that was a pleasant enough outing. I spent the afternoon planting out the companion parsley pots, then baked some brownies, then did the laundry, then the grocery shopping. Such excitement.

Oh I forgot to tell you about my Friday! I went to work as usual in the morning but the airconditioning vent above my desk was doing weird things and sounded like a jet engine was roaring above my head, so I came home again to do some work in peace. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but there is a very big mosque on the corner of the street I live in. Ramadan has been going for the past month, and every day at sundown approximately 1,563,289 muslims arrived to pray. Usually it doesn’t bother us in the slightest.

Anyhow Friday is the big holy day for muslims and at lunchtime you cannot move in our street for all the cars and people. Again, not usually a problem because we’re generally at work at lunchtime on Fridays. Except this week. Around 12.45pm, I heard a car pull up in our drive way. I decided it was way to early to expect the boy home, so I opened the front door to see who it was.

There was a car parked in our driveway. Not my car. Not the boy’s car. Not the car of anyone I know. A random car. Tucked right in up against the garage door. What?

As I’m standing out the front, trying to work out what was going on, the annoying young man who lives across the street (he was out there smoking) told me he saw the driver run off into the mosque. So some random person thinks he can just park his car in MY driveway, assuming no-one is going to notice?

A couple of minutes later, the local council parking inspectors arrived. One side of our street is permit parking only, but some people attending the mosque don’t seem to be too bothered by that fact. I called them over to ask if they could do anything about the strange car in my driveway. The more senior one called the office to see if there was any law that would allow them to at least give this person a ticket, if not get the car removed. Remember they were blocking the garage, so if I had some sort of emergency I would not have been able to get my car out.

Turns out the person was not breaking any council by-laws, which was a shame. The nice parking inspectors (bet you never thought you’d hear all those words in the same sentence) told me my only option would be to call the police, which I didn’t want to do because it would be a waste of their time. By this time prayer time seemed to be over and people were coming out of the mosque. So I asked the inspectors to wait with me until the owner of the car showed up. With his two small children, both of whom tried to run across the garden (I told them off for that). When the man who owned the car showed up, I think he was a bit surprised to find me and two men in uniform standing in front of his car. Actually he looked petrified. I asked him if it was his car (yes) and then if it was his house (no). So then I asked who he thought he was to be parking in my driveway. His excuse was that it was his first time in this country and he didn’t know.

Whatever country you’re from, you do NOT park in someone else’s driveway. That was the most pathetic excuse I’ve ever heard. I told him I wasn’t interested in his excuses and if I ever saw his car in my driveway again I would call the police, and to get his car off my property now. No, don’t talk to me, just get out of here. Now.

I was so angry I was shaking. But I didn’t yell, and I didn’t call him all the nasty names that were going around in my head. The parking inspectors told me I handled it very well. I thanked them for staying with me.

The nerve of some people!

(sorry this is such a long post)

6 responses to “Weekend Report

  1. barb September 20, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Yay for the Parsley Pots! I'm sure Huffle will be quite pleased. And won't Angus be thrilled?!

    The nerve of some people, indeed! I think you handled it well, too. Next year, you may have to block your driveway to prevent it from happening again.

  2. Latest news by TamTam September 21, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Thas is the worst thing I have heard for quit a while. I would like to know which contry he was from though, so I will never go there by accident.

  3. ClydePossum September 21, 2009 at 10:09 am

    1.) No matter which pot has nothing in it, Huffle will sleep in the ones that do have stuff in them.

    2.) It doesn't matter where the idiot was from, idiots are born all over the world and whole countries shouldn't take responsibility for the idiots just because they came from there… frankly I think the U.S. is now majority led by morons, please don't judge me by them.

  4. Debstar September 21, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I would have been angry too. So disrespectful!

  5. Author September 21, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Great about the parsley pot!

    Re the parked car ~ THE CHEEK OF IT! There could have been all sorts or reasons as to why you may have needed to get your car out ~ AND it was trespass.

    It occurred to me, do you think this happens when you're at work normally and you haven't realised? You may have to consider a chain across the drive when you're in to ensure you can get out! I'd definitely phone the police if it happens again.

    Jan

  6. Steve, Kat, & Wilbur September 24, 2009 at 6:07 am

    How much do you want to wager that Huffle will want to sleep in the pots with stuff growing in them?

    Once I had a car towed that was parked in front of my garage when I lived in an apartment. I had to get up to go to work really early, and it was about 4:30AM and I couldn't get my car out of the garage. So I called the towing company from the apartment company literature and they came and got the car. I was still late for work, but I felt like at least I had done something.

