Playing hooky

On Tuesday, the boy and I decided that we would be sneaky and take the afternoon off work to go and visit the Museum.  Specifically, we wanted to the see A Day in Pompeii exhibition.  So we left work at 2pm, went and had some lunch, then trotted off to see the exhibition.

We weren’t allowed to take any photos which is a shame, because it was very good.  The plaster casts of actual bodies that were buried in the ashes and lava were amazing, in an eerie sort of way.  It was well worth it.

Our Pompeii tickets let us in to the rest of the museum, so we wandered around all the galleries and found this really cool dinosaur bones one.  I just took one quick photo with the iPhone; sorry it’s not better quality.
dinosaur

It was a great day out and we thought maybe we should do it more often.  Not sure how either of our work places will feel about that. 🙂

4 responses to “Playing hooky

  1. Kate October 16, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Sounds like lots of fun and cool dinosaurs! Way to sneak a picture!

  2. debbie October 17, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Sounds like you had a top day. I’ve been to Pompeii, it really is spooky and the size of the place is quite astounding.

  3. Author October 17, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Good job you have an anonymous blog, LOL!

    The exhibition sounds fascinating ~ I’d have snuck off to see it too. I’ve always thought Pompei fascinating ~ it’s hard to believe what occurred in just a matter of minutes or seconds. I’m going to follow the link to read more.

    PS: I always take sneaky pics even when it says it’s forbidden! LOL!

  4. Valerie October 20, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Playing hookie is always fun. You know, I think I should do it more often.

