Books, books and more books

Because I am having a quiet week I have been trawling through the archives of some of the blogs I read regularly.  I came across this meme (from ages ago) on Jan’s blog and thought I would give it a whirl here.

1. Do you remember learning how to read?  How old were you?

I don’t particularly remember learning to read, I just know I launched into it with great enthusiasm.  I was probably four at the time.  I remember having the mumps when I was quite young and my mother brought home a copy of The Teddy Bear’s Picnic for me and I loved it and read it over and over.  The Famous Five were my absolute favourite books, and I loved Noddy and Big Ears at an early age.  I often wish I had kept my copies of all those classics, but I gave them to my much younger cousin when she was the right age and I don’t think she kept them after reading them.

2. What do you find most challenging to read?

Biographies, unless the person is exceptionally interesting, and historical books,  because I just find them tedious.  I read to be entertained.  I’m not much into science fiction either.

3. What are your library habits?

I am a librarian by training.  I have excellent library habits.  When I was younger and couldn’t afford to buy books I would borrow a dozen at a time from the library.  I haven’t set foot in a library in years now.  I love to buy books and read them again and again if I enjoy them.

4. Have your library habits changed since you were younger?

Yes very much so.  I never borrow anything any more.  My excuse is I spent years working in libraries, so I don’t feel like visiting one now.  It’s a good story and I’m sticking to it.

5. How has blogging changed your reading life?

Yes indeed!  I read a lot of blogs now!  The thing that hasn’t changed is the number of books I still read.  I love to read for entertainment and I am always looking out for great books to read.  I’ll always listen to others recommendations too.  Deb recommended The Time Traveller’s Wife to me and whilst it is not a book I would have picked up myself, I bought and and read it and enjoyed it a lot.  Except the ending 🙂  Someone recommended Snow Falling on Cedars to me many years ago, so I borrowed it from that person and hated every page.  I stopped reading at about page 100 because it was doing my head in.

6. What percentage of your books do you get from new book shops, secondhand book shops, the library, online exchange sites, online retailers, other?

All my books come from new bookshops.  I only rarely buy from online retailers if there’s something I can’t find in a bookshop in Australia.

7. How often do you read a book and review it on your blog? What are your reasons for blogging about a book?

I don’t often review the books I read on my blog because I am not good at giving a short synopsis of a story before giving my opinion.  So a review from me would only include my opinion of the book, and give you NO clue about the actual story.  Having said that, I have talked about The Time Traveller’s Wife in recent times, but if you go and look at that review, I think you’ll agree it was fairly useless to anyone hoping to find out what the book was about 🙂  Because I don’t usually read “serious” books, I guess I think people wouldn’t be interested in my opinion of the latest Clive Cussler novel anyway.  And I’m okay with that.

8. What are your pet peeves about the way people treat books?

People who fold down page corners.  Use a bookmark, for crying out loud!

9. Do you ever read for pleasure at work?

Sadly, no.  I work in the environmental field and there is no pleasurable reading to be had.  It’s mostly doom and gloom.

10. When you give people books as gifts, how do you decide what to give them?

I’d probably ask what they like to read, any favourite authors, styles, something they’ve heard about and might be interested in.  I wouldn’t like it if someone picked a random book for me without knowing my tastes, so I wouldn’t do that to someone else.

4 responses to “Books, books and more books

  1. debbie November 12, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    I loved the famous five, and the secret seven! When I turned 10 I was addicted to Anne of Green Gables and the chronicles.

  2. Author November 12, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed this meme ~ your answers are intersting. It’s fun that we all enjoyed Enid Blyton’s books.

    Did you know there is a film coming out soon about Enid Blyton’s life? I shall be watching it for sure.

    It’s called “Enid” and is an upcoming British dramatic television movie, set for release on 16th November 2009 on BBC Four. Directed by James Hawes, it will be based on the life of Enid Blyton. Helena Bonham Carter will portray the title character and the film will introduce the two main lovers of Blyton’s life. The first being Hugh Pollock, Blyton’s publisher and first husband, played by Matthew Macfadyen, and the second being Kenneth Darrell Waters, a London surgeon who becomes Blyton’s second husband, played by Denis Lawson. The film, set in the 20th Century, will explore how the orderly, reassuringly clear worlds Blyton created within her stories contrasted with the complexity of her own personal life.

    Jan

  3. Steve & Kat November 13, 2009 at 6:10 am

    I have been lusting after a Sony Reader. I’m sure I should spend my $400 on something else though.

  4. debbie November 13, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I’ve just discovered that Audrey Niffenegger has a new book out called ‘Her Fearful Symmetry”. It’s the first item on my Christmas List.

