The Pioneer Woman’s White Chicken Enchiladas

I don’t know if you’ve ever bothered to go and have a look at The Pioneer Woman’s website.  Having only recently discovered it, I now read it daily.  Ree is funny and smart, and a great cook.  She’s even recently launched her own cookbook.  I don’t usually bother trying recipes I find on other people’s websites or blogs, they often don’t interest me.  But ages ago I bought some tortillas and they’d been sitting in the cupboard for a bit, waiting for me to get inspired and use them.  When I saw Ree’s recipe for White Chicken Enchiladas, I knew I had a winner.

Then I got all inspired to try and be a food photographer, because you know, I don’t take enough photos every day as it is.

So here is my chicken, bubbling away merrily to cook the chicken and make the required broth:

Enchiladas 01

And here are my chopped onions, and chillies, except they weren’t chillies they were capsicums (peppers) because apparently I can’t read, so pause for a moment for an emergency trip to the shop to buy a heap of chillies.  That pause also gave me the chance to stop crying after chopping all that onion.

Enchiladas 02

Here are my two-and-a-half cups of shredded chicken.  At least, I think it’s two-and-a-half cups.  It’s hard to know exactly what two-and-a-half cups of shredded chicken looks like.

Enchiladas 03

After that I forgot to keep taking photos, so all you get to see is one semi-eaten plate of the most delicious chicken enchiladas EVER.

Enchiladas 04

There were so good, we ate them again the next night.

Ree used green chillies in her recipe, but I don’t like THAT much heat in my food so I went for the safer option.  Next time, I might be a bit braver and use half green and half red chillies.  Because there will definitely be a next time!

And if I’m going to keep up this food photography lark, I need a bigger kitchen, more appliances, and better lighting.  Just saying.

2 responses to “The Pioneer Woman’s White Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Shmoo November 19, 2009 at 11:19 am

    You’ll also need new shoes for that gig.

  2. Fin November 20, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Hi Tracey – Meg here… Does Huffle know about this? I came to tell Huffle of course she was a gardening cat and found your blog.

