Birthday Wrap Up

So as you know it was my birthday on Friday.  Thanks for all the birthday wishes!  Unfortunately I did have to go to work but we had cake and my boss told me to go home early (and she bought me some pretty flowers) so the day wasn’t all bad.  We didn’t do anything exciting for dinner but I said I wasn’t cooking so we got souvlakis instead.  Very tasty.

Saturday I got these very sweet flowers:

Birthday Roses

which are tiny pink roses, although you might not be able to tell from that photo since I was being arty and playing with the colour settings before.

For dinner we went to Cutler & Co, a restaurant that opened in February and has been getting rave reviews from day one.  In the 2010 Melbourne Good Food Guide, it received two chefs hats (like Michelin stars), Chef of the Year and Best New Restaurant.  So I figured we had a good chance of getting a decent meal.

I suggest you have a look at the website and check out the menu.  For my entree I had the Cured Kingfish with calamari and horseradish foam.  DIVINE.  For mains I had the Roast Suckling Pig.  And for dessert I had the Strawberry Sorbet with Vanilla Rice.  Every single mouthful was delicious and we will definitely go back there for dinner again.  The boy had oysters, John Dory and the Chocolate Icecream Sandwich, all of which he raved about.  It was yummy.  If you ever come to Melbourne we will take you there for dinner.

Presents I got for my birthday included some stunning pink sapphire and diamond earrings, a bracelet, my favourite moisturiser, a bottle of perfume, and some money and gift vouchers.  Today I went shopping and bought a new dress and some delicious body butter, and a book with all my birthday money.  It’s been a good birthday and turning 36 wasn’t so bad.

6 responses to “Birthday Wrap Up

  1. Khyra's Mom December 6, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    It sounds fantastic!

    I’m not much for calamari but the rest works for me!

    Gee – I wonder if I can remember #36?

    Hmmmmmmm – ummmmmmm – not wanting to –

    Next –

  2. Author December 6, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    36 is a fantastic age to be (I remember it well! :sigh: ) Some of the happiest times of my lfe happened in the decade from 36 to 46 ~ so enjoy!

  3. Poppy Q December 6, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Sounds like a great birthday!!! Enjoy your treats!!

  4. Trish December 7, 2009 at 12:23 am

    Happy Belated Birthday! Sounds like you’ve had a great time. Can you post a pic of the earrings?

  5. Steve and Kat December 7, 2009 at 8:43 am

    It sounds like you had a great birthday! That’s great that your boss lets you go home early!!

  6. barb December 9, 2009 at 8:19 am

    I loved being 36, except that I was still married to my now-Mr X. But other than that…

