Beginnings

For the past few weeks, since Christmas really, I have not been at work full time. In fact, I was sick the week before Christmas and only made it to work for half a day that week. In January, I came to work a couple of days a week because we were not very busy. But now the happy days are over.

This week, I am back full time. Man, it was hard getting out of bed this morning. I cursed the alarm when it went off at 6.20am.

We have a new person in our team at work this week. She used to work here, about three and half years ago. She went on maternity leave, then went to another job for a year, then went on maternity leave again. For reasons I don’t really understand, she then insisted on coming back to work with us. I have been sitting here thinking bad thoughts about her since she arrived an hour ago. And yes, it’s uncharitable, but I don’t care. She’s going to be here two days a week and I don’t know she’s going to do. Even my boss is not sure what she’s going to do. AND she’s already telling us her younger child is sick today so she might have to go home early.

If you leave, please don’t come back.

I’m a such a bitch, aren’t I?

6 responses to “Beginnings

  1. Debstar February 1, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I don’t think it is bitchy at all, perfectly normal in fact. But then I’m a bitch so what’s bitchy and what isn’t is all a bit blurry to me.

  2. Jena February 1, 2010 at 10:20 am

    I want to get a job as a hermit, but I can’t find anyone to hire me.

  3. Milo and Alfie February 2, 2010 at 1:18 am

    You’re not a bitch, just truthful. Sometimes people can be a right pain to be around, especially at work, and especially when they don’t pull their weight or are difficult.

    Jan

  4. jen February 2, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    i wonder if that’s what some of my co-workers think of me at times…

  5. Shmoo February 3, 2010 at 10:50 am

    Nope, because its only a matter of time before she:
    1.) squirts out another kid and bails
    or
    2.) only shows up once in a blue moon because one kid or another is always sick, parent/teacher thing, school thing, etc.

    dumping you with all of her work and then screaming about not getting equal wages.

    Have I mention how much I hate kids and “career” breeders?

