Reading

I do a lot of reading. I love reading. I love it so much I became a qualified librarian so I could be around books all the time. When I applied to University, I had to do an interview with the head of the department and he asked me why I wanted to become a librarian. I said it was because I loved reading, and he told me that wasn’t enough. I think the fact that I then said, “and I’m obsessively organised and if something doesn’t have a number, I’ll give it one” clinched the deal for me.

Anyway I have been reading a few blog posts (okay, it was really just one, but it was a big one!) about reading. I’m not a snob, I’ll do my reading electronically to satisfy my cravings. You know I have a Kindle. You might know I have an iPad, and I have the iBook app loaded on it. What you might not know is that I read at least 50 25 okay it’s really 60 blogs a day as well.  Some are famous the world over (although not loved the world over), some are universally loved,  and others seem to attract only one reader (often me).  A recent post on MamaMia (I don’t read it often but when I do I often spend an hour or so going through the archives) sparked a conversation about which books people are currently reading.

Believe it or not, I am not currently reading anything.  Well, unless you include The Jungle Books by Rudyard Kipling but since I read that years ago I don’t think it counts.  But what is on the list (or in the pile, if we are talking about physical books, as opposed to electronic versions)?

  • Dog Boy by Eva Hornung (hard copy).  I bought this AGES ago and haven’t picked it up yet.  I hope it’s a good one.
  • The Vancouver Stories, by various (hard copy).  That Various is a busy person, writing so many things!  Just kidding.  The manager of the hotel we stayed at in Vancouver gave it to me as a gift.  That was in October 2008.  Oops.
  • Two Caravans by Marina Lewycka (hard copy).  I read her first novel, A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian, and was very entertained.  I hope this one is as good.
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift (kindle).  I have seen the movies but never read the book.
  • Caught Stealing and Already Dead, both by Charlie Huston (kindle).  No idea what they’re like, Amazon recommended them based on my other purchases and I was in a frenzy of book buying.  I hope they’re good.
  • Bad Debts by Peter Temple (kindle).  According to my mother, an Australian author who writes great crime novels.  She better be right about that!
  • The Book of Joe by Jonathon Tropper (hard copy).  I read How To Talk To a Widower while we were in New Zealand last year and loved it.  Fingers crossed for this one.

And those are just the ones I can remember.  In fact, I had to log in to my Amazon account to find out what I’d purchased that I hadn’t already read.  There are many more in the Kindle but I’ve already read them.

The best book I’ve read this year so far?  I Am Ozzy by Ozzy Osbourne.  Or The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.  It’s hard to pick my favourite because they were so different.  But the Ozzy Osbourne book was surprisingly entertaining.

I have not picked up a book to read since we got home from Russia.  I might have to remedy that this weekend.

7 responses to “Reading

  1. Debstar June 18, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I haven’t read one of those books. When I handed in my assignments last week I celebrated by going directly to the library and borrowing 3 books. They were all rubbish. I tried to get The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo but it was out on loan. Out of desperation I went through my own library and found My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier and have been slowly reading it. I’ve read it before a long, long time ago and have totally forgotten the ending. It is so good not to read information databases and the like.

    I am a book snob. I want pages made of paper thank you. I want nothing to do with things that come up on a screen. I know, I’m showing my age.

  2. Barb @WillThink4Wine June 19, 2010 at 12:55 am

    I don’t know how you have time to read and comment on 60 blogs! I haven’t had time to read anything in months. I’ve had the same book, The Lost Symbol, on my nightstand waiting for me to get back to it. Every night it stares at me accusingly when I get into bed. I’ve read about a hundred pages but I’m too tired to read by the time I get to bed. You may have noticed that I’ve had to give up the cat blogging. It was sucking up way too much of what little free time I have. Two houses and four cats make for a very tired me!

  3. Denise June 20, 2010 at 6:54 am

    It’s amazing! It’s so nice to know you love reading! I love reading as well! I don’t read 60 blogs a day (thanks for reading mine!), but around 20, I would say. Book shops and libraries are also places where I can stay a whoooole day long, and I lose track of the time… it’s so cool to know you are a librarian!
    Then let me tell you I am worried right now: I need to study (still) a lot up to September, when I have my Master’s exams. Yesterday I was trying to get ammunition – books – to read, about the topics I have to talk. Guess what??? 400 pounds… I still didn’t buy them all, I have to select some, but… it’s OK! Books are like jewelry, I always say. A legacy, investment, enrichment. I am sure you agree with me!
    Have a nice weekend! (And if you have some suggestions of sites where I can download some books legally, please share with me… it will spare some money, amazon was really expensive…)

  4. Poppy Q June 20, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Tracey, do you enjoy your Kindle. I can imagine the portablility of it is great, especially on holidays, but I love curling up in bed with a real book. Anyways we don’t have any available in New Zealand yet.

    I too enjoyed Ozzy Osbournes book, I didn’t expect it to be as amusing as it was, and thought it better than Sharons.

    Julie Q

  5. Shmoo June 21, 2010 at 6:49 am

    I’m currently reading “Are you there, vodka? Its me, Chelsea” which is disturbing because she writes just like how my brain works and I get all pissed off because she’s published and famous and I could be if I wasn’t such a lazy ass and actually wrote stuff.

    I’m going to have to read the Ozzy book because you are the second person that said it was good. I can’t imagine getting it as an audio book if he was reading it, you wouldn’t be able to understand anything.

  6. Debstar June 21, 2010 at 11:24 am

    I finished My Cousin Rachel yesterday. It wasn’t until I reached pg 287 that I thought ‘Oh now I remember’. I’m just a little bit slow.

  7. Kate June 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I love books and bought a kindle. I just finished reading Laura Bush’s autobiography and am also in the middle of Dreams from my Father by Barack Obama. It’s fascinating how different these 2 books are in their style of writing and how far they let you in.

