August: really glad it’s nearly over

I spent two hours this morning in the emergency department at the Eye and Ear Hospital.  When I woke up, my eye was so sore I could barely see – it felt like there was an enormous rock parked in it, scraping against my eye every time I looked anywhere other than straight ahead, or blinked, or really did anything.  And it was RED.  Like, volcanic red.  Not a good look.

Thankfully the hospital is one block away from my work, so I went there this morning instead of to my office.  Two hours later we had determined that I had a big J-shaped scratch around the edge of the cornea, and that was what was causing my pain.  I left with two types of antibiotic drops and an appointment for a follow up in three days.

The week prior to this, I have been battling The Cold From Hell.  It started out as just a sore throat, progressed to a chest infection, and now has settled in my sinuses.  Along the way I went from phone-sex voice to serial-killer voice to no voice, and now it just sounds pathetic.

Two weeks ago, I was walking up the (one) step from the garage into the kitchen when I lost my balance and kicked the base of the (tile covered concrete) step.  I didn’t break my toe, but very many Bad Words were said.  It hurt for about two weeks.

Three weeks ago, I dropped a full bottle of shampoo on my other big toe.  Many Bad Words were said that morning in the shower, and I am happy to report that I didn’t lose the nail although there is still an alarming bruise.

See?  Can’t wait for September.

4 responses to “August: really glad it’s nearly over

  1. Debstar August 30, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    September means Spring, wheeeeee can’t wait. You sure know how to make a crappy winter even worse. Hope that eye gets better soon. xxx

  2. Reenie August 30, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Me too-oooo!

    What a bad bad month August has been for me as well!

  3. Bar @WillThink4Wine August 31, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    I can’t say I blame you for wanting to kiss August goodbye. I still have the cough of my summer cold lingering on… unreasonably too long!

  4. Denise September 4, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Oh my God, Tracey, what was all of that? Simply terrible, I am happy for you that September came! What about your eye? Is it better? I had the same problem two years ago and I tell you, it’s really bad, you know this by now. I have to have my eye drops aaaalways with me, it’s a must. Anyway, please keep us informed… please! Is September better? Did it start in a better way? I hope so!

