Weekend Movie Review: Black Swan

black-swan-movie-posterThis weekend, the boy and I went to see the movie Black Swan.  I was quite looking forward to it as I’d heard it was a good movie.

Yeah, right.

The basic premise: Nina Sayers (Natalie Portman) is a ballerina chosen to dance the role of the swan queen in Swan Lake.  Her paranoia and drive to be the best drive her slowly insane.  She thinks everyone and everything is out to get her, and she starts hallucinating all sorts of weird things.  A few spots were a bit gruesome, some were a bit raunchy, and it was altogether too long a movie.  Natalie Portman was good and she had clearly lost 45% of her body weight for the movie, and she obviously had some ballet training for the role.  However, as one of my friends said to me on FaceBook, this is the kind of movie you go see when you are happy and think your life is too perfect, and need to be brought down a peg or two.

Two hours I am never getting back in my life.  I will say, though, it was not as bad at 2012.  Quite.

3 responses to “Weekend Movie Review: Black Swan

  1. Barb @ AgingGracefully-ish February 20, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    I hardly go to a theater any more. DVDs are much easier to fit into my life and there is very little I think is worthy enough to haul my cookies to the mall; fighting the traffic and idiots, putting up with annoying people talking and laughing and walking in front of me and paying a ton of money for the movie and paying even more for a bottle of water and some popcorn. (I don’t drink soda and they don’t sell coffee. Or wine!) But back when I DID go, if I hated the movie I always left the theater. So it begs the question – why did you stay?

  2. Shmoo February 21, 2011 at 2:02 am

    I refuse to go to the theater any more. All “GREAT” “MUST SEE” movies suck (film reviewers are the weather people of show biz), and sitting in a crowded theater with a bunch of people who can’t shut up for 3 seconds, feet sticking to the floor and taking out a 2nd mortgage to afford popcorn just isn’t worth it. Pay per view, DVD, or wait until it eventually shows up on HBO.

  3. Debstar February 21, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Now I loved that movie. I like dark and disturbing. Also I thought Natalie Portman did an excellent job, being so small and bony only added to her vulnerability. Maybe you need a good old chick flick to cheer you up.

