Movie Review: The King’s Speech

I am probably the last person on the planet to see this movie, so this won’t come as news to anyone else.

Movie poster: The King's Speech

This was a FABULOUS movie.  I loved every part of it.  Colin Firth was extraordinary as the Duke of York, forced into becoming King when his brother abdicates the throne.  Geoffrey Rush was wonderful as the unorthodox speech therapist with – *gasp* – no formal training but a record of success.  Helena Bonham Carter as the Duke’s wife was understated and delightful.

If you are one of the three people left on this planet who has not seen this movie, I recommend you do.  It is well worth it.  It’s the best movie I have seen in a year at least.

7 responses to “Movie Review: The King’s Speech

  1. Shmoo March 15, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    It should come as no surprise that I am one of those three remaining people who haven’t seen this movie.

  2. Barb @ AgingGracefully-ish March 16, 2011 at 7:45 am

    I am always THE last person to see a movie as always I wait for them to come out on DVD or *gasp* on Starz or Encore.

    I’ve heard nothing but great reviews for this and am looking forward to seeing it. When it comes out on DVD. :]

  3. Debstar March 16, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Me, me, I haven’t seen it. *Waves hand in air* *gasp*. My movie mates went & saw it the week I couldn’t go so I have no one to see it with. Thought I would watch it on DVD. I saw Unknown this week. It should have been called Forgettable instead.

  4. Milo and Alfie March 17, 2011 at 3:42 am

    I Haven’t seen it yet either ~ I’ve ordered it on DVD!

    Jan

  5. jen March 17, 2011 at 8:24 am

    haven’t seen it either — don’t plan to.

  6. Kate March 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I have heard so many great things about this movie, I like both those actors (especially Collin Firth). It is on our “must see” list! Thanks for the recommendation!

  7. Denise March 18, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    I did see it, on my birthday! And yes, I loved the film and like you, I also thought it must have been one of the best movies I saw this year! (I know, still 9 months to go, but yes, it was excellent!)

