Travelling with Tracey: Wodonga

If you’re my friend on FaceBook, last week you would have seen me whingeing about having to travel to Wodonga for work.  Wodonga is a town in north-east Victoria, which straddles the border with New South Wales and is half of the twin cities of Albury-Wodonga.  It’s a nice enough place but during winter, it’s damn cold.  As is evidenced by the fact that on Thursday last week it was only 8C, and went down to -1C overnight, then struggled back up to 7C on the Friday.

Here you can see the area where bushfires raged through two years ago. Those lines on the hill are trees that have been burnt and subsequently lined up for removal.
110708 NECMA 03

And here are some lovely cows. I am obsessed with cows. They make me laugh.
110708 NECMA 04

And in this area, the creek you can’t really see running through the middle of this paddock was one of many that was flooded earlier this year! These poor people can’t catch a break.
110708 NECMA 07

If you ever come to visit me in Melbourne I will not force you to visit Wodonga. There are nicer places in the state to see.

5 responses to “Travelling with Tracey: Wodonga

  1. Debstar July 14, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    There may be nicer places in the state but you still managed to find the beauty. Great photos.

  2. Barb @iPhoneographi July 15, 2011 at 12:04 am

    I just like saying Wodonga. Wodonga. Wodonga. Wodonga.

    You Aussies have such fun words. srsly.

  3. The Ao4 July 15, 2011 at 2:32 am

    See?!!? I said what Barb said on FB — I just LOVE saying Wodonga!!! What a great name!
    Dave would like to change it to Woo-donga. Does that make it any more bearable for you? 🙂
    KZ

  4. kevin griffiths July 15, 2011 at 4:06 am

    Looks like a broadening experience for you thanks for sharing…

  5. Kate July 15, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Nicer place than this? I want to live there! It’s so beautiful!!

