Ch Ch Ch Changes…

According to a survey done by Wilkinson’s Sword (a shaving company), these are the top 20 things that women try to change about their men.

  1. Dress sense
  2. Shaving habits
  3. Hairstyle
  4. Nose and ear hair issues
  5. Shoe choice
  6. Aftershave
  7. Plucking eyebrows
  8. Improving hygiene
  9. Get rid of his beard/moustache
  10. Cleanse and moisturise daily
  11. Diet
  12. Financial responsibility
  13. Talking about their feelings
  14. Drinking less
  15. Watching more chick flicks
  16. Call mum more frequently
  17. Put the toilet seat down
  18. Stop swearing
  19. Share the remote control
  20. Learn to cook

I’ve had a good hard look at the list and I must say, there’s only one thing on it that I’ve actually tried – and succeeded – to change about the boy.  Swearing.  We both swear a bit occasionally but he is banned from saying the “c” word around me.  I find it horribly offensive for reasons I can’t explain, I don’t even like the sound of the word.  It only took me three times to say “please don’t say that word around me” and I haven’t heard it now for seven years.

Why haven’t I tried to change anything else?  Well for starters, he is who he is and I don’t actually want to change him.  Secondly, he’s adult enough to know how to dress and when to shower.  Okay he can’t cook but he makes up for it by doing the dishes every night.

Oh, and although he doesn’t actually cleanse and moisturise daily, he does use Clarins Men’s Face Scrub in the shower every morning.  And I get in trouble if there isn’t a new tube in the cupboard when he runs out 🙂

7 responses to “Ch Ch Ch Changes…

  1. Debstar. October 27, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    I gave up trying to share the remote control a long time ago. I told him it was like an extension of his penis because he never lets go of it. Oddly enough he got really insulted.
    I did take issue with the nose and ear hair. Nose hair is gross.

  2. Barb @iPhoneographi October 27, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Having been with the same man for 27 years and having nearly ALL of those issues drive me nuts at one time or another, I’d have to say that Financial Responsibility would be at the top of my list. I could work around all the other crap. But apparently not for longer than 27 years. 😛

  3. jen October 28, 2011 at 9:23 am

    i think doing the dishes every night is perfectly wonderful. it means that you can experiment and cook… and he’ll clean up!

  4. pitgat October 29, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Fantastic list! But I never tried more than numbers 4 or 7 once or twice, nothing else. Just what you said “he is who he is”.

  5. Debstar. November 5, 2011 at 12:27 am

    To kevin – Of course they’re not married, that’s why they are so happy!

  6. Kate November 8, 2011 at 3:54 am

    Hmmm…I taught Josh what looks good and what doesn’t (as he was wearing tapered pants when I met him and outfits that were all the same color). 2 of my biggest pet peeves. I guess, maybe talking about his feelings? But not really, we had to find a middle ground of me talking too much and him not talking enough. So it wasn’t like I was right and he was wrong, we just had to figure out the best way for us to communicate. Otherwise, he’s taken care of the rest of the list or it doesn’t bother me.

    Very interesting, thanks for sharing!

