Division of labour

Since it seems like a lot of people are looking at this blog, even though I’ve posted exactly once this month, I thought I’d better write something for you all to read (waving at people who visit but never, ever comment.  Why?  Did I do something wrong?  How can I fix it?)

On to today’s discussion.  It’s all about housework, which I know you all are thrilled about.

The boy and I have been cohabiting (living together? sharing a house?  it all seems a bit sordid, really) for nearly six years now.  When I moved in with him, we never had a discussion about jobs around the house.  Over time, our list of jobs has evolved and now they are divided up like this.

Me: cooking, laundry and ironing, checking the letterbox, grocery shopping.

Him: dishes, taking out the rubbish, killing creepy crawlies, feeding cats, changing cat litter trays.

We pay a very nice woman and her husband to do our cleaning.  I used to do it, but resented spending half of my weekend scrubbing toilets or showers or whatever, so we solved that problem quickly enough.  I think boys and girls have different levels of dirt tolerance, so to save any arguments we get an impartial party to deal with it!

I do the cooking because the boy CAN NOT COOK to save his life.  He tried making pancakes once, using a recipe I gave him, and under strict supervision, and they were inedible.  Neither of us could explain it.  I do, however, make him give me suggestions about what to cook, because when it comes to cooking dinner every night of the week, 54% of the battle is deciding what to cook.  And he is very good about saying we’ll go out or get takeaway if I decide I am incapable of cooking every now and then.  I also the laundry because I am the only one who considers it a good idea not to put every single item of clothing in one load of washing and turn it on hot, then dump everything in the dryer.

As for the grocery shopping, the boy comes with me every other time I go, and of course it costs me twice as much when he does.  But he helps and it’s all good.  He is also in charge of bringing the bags of shopping in from the car, and putting things in the fridge and freezer.

So I have no complaints about the division of labour in our house.  How does it work in yours?

 

p.s. I will be absent for a while longer as we’re moving house on Monday and Tuesday.  I know, I can hardly believe it myself.  I’ll try and take pictures.

9 responses to “Division of labour

  1. Barb Mills Gretter December 2, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I really need to find someone to clean for me again. I shall move that higher up on my to-do list!

    Good luck with your move!

  2. Kate December 3, 2011 at 2:20 am

    I read!! And I comment (when you haven’t turned off comments…grrr)

    OK-division of labor…
    Me: Majority of cleaning, majority of laundry, wow…I don’t feel like I do very much.
    Josh: Cooking, animals (except I usually take out the bad litter and he puts in the fresh litter).

    I think I just figured out why our house is very messy.

    I know moving is stressful, but for how long you’ve been waiting, you must be very excited as well! Don’t worry about posting…but after you get settled in…don’t forget your faithful readers…my days wouldn’t be filled with as much laughter if you go away!

  3. KZK December 3, 2011 at 3:00 am

    The move is here! The move is here!!!
    Hope all goes well and that Huffle and Teddy adjust well!!!

  4. jen December 4, 2011 at 11:39 am

    *wishes she could afford a cleaning lady*

  5. Cat's Cats December 5, 2011 at 7:48 am

    Robert does the cooking, I do the cleaning, he deals with the dog poop and I look after the cats. It all works quite well except for laundry. Whoever happens to be in the laundry room when the basket is full just does a load, but I think I may have to restrict him to sheets and towels because his skills sound a lot like your boy’s – LOL!!!

  6. pitgatDenise December 6, 2011 at 12:07 am

    Oh, I was one of your readers who came here to check whether you wrote something or not! I am glad you did! I am very glad too, that you are moving! And please, when everything (or nearly!) is OK, please post something to tell us how it was!

  7. linda December 7, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    ok- maybe I’m one of your ‘lurkers’!! I browse the blogs and sometimes leave comments and now you have prompted me into action!! In our house the split up is much like yours. There are ‘boy’ jobs and ‘girl’ jobs. We have never sat down and discussed who does what it just sort of evolved.Tomorrow will be 38 years we’ve been doing this!! Yikes!

  8. Poppy Q December 8, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Hi Tracey,
    I cook, clean and do the laundry and all the other jobs.
    Poppy is in charge of cleaning her cat bowl, security and even if I ask her to do the housework when I leave the house, it never gets done.

    Hope your moving day goes smoothly.

    Julie and Poppy Q
    xxx

