Welcome to 2012

I hope your new year celebrations went as planned.  We had the usual bottle of champagne and plate of nibblies; very civilised.  Stayed up and watched the fireworks from our back yard, and were in bed by 12.30am.  We’re such party animals.

Anyhow, for Christmas I got all these books:
Books

And over the next few weeks I plan to finish them all. In fact, I’ve already finished the Steve Jobs biography. It was very interesting and I really liked the fact that the author didn’t sugarcoat it. There is a danger that people who are loved and hated in equal measures will be painted in an overly flattering light by their biographers, but Walter Isaacson didn’t fall into that trap and the book is better for it.

I’m now halfway through The Fry Chronicles, which is richly entertaining and makes me think I don’t know nearly enough about the English language.

I’m also very much looking forward to the other two books.

5 responses to “Welcome to 2012

  1. Trish January 1, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    I saw Black Heels on the shelf at Dymocks the other day. I didn’t buy it, but I flicked through and got inspired to keep going with my book. Thank you so much for all your words of encouragement, it really has helped me SO much. Have a great summer of reading!

  2. Barb Mills Gretter January 2, 2012 at 1:12 am

    I have a huge stack of books that I HOPE to get to this year. I’ve been so busy with other things lately and have barely read at all.

    Happy New Year, from me and alla the Gs!

  3. Denise January 2, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Happy new year! I liked your selection of books! You’ll love the Fry Chronicles! I like him very much, very intelligent! The other books I didn’t read; I thought of reading Steve Jobs’ biography, but I confess, I’m so lazy these days… and I have to read some psychology books right now (for the next step, doctorate), so I’ll wait a bit… But I did love your choice!

  4. Denisepitgat January 5, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    I know you wouldn’t post it here, but anyway I gave you an award! Hope you and the boy and cats and house are fine!

  5. debstar January 6, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Happy New Year, Tracey. This is a little late, but better late than never, right? I’m glad those books aren’t in my house because dinner wouldn’t get cooked for a month!

