Losing it

On Wednesday, I had a melt down.  Not in a losing-my-mind-needing-hospitalisation way, but there were tears.

I am usually quite independent and very capable of taking care of myself.  On Wednesday, all that self-assurance deserted me.  And all because of a taxi.

On Wednesday morning, I had dropped my car off to be serviced.  The boy followed me there and then took me to work.  No public transport in the area, you see.   Anyway, I said I would just take a taxi back to the service centre when the car was done, rather than him have to leave work, come and pick me up, drive me there and then go back to work.

At 3.30pm, I ordered a taxi and went out to the street to wait.  At 3.47pm, I called the taxi company again to find out where my taxi was.  The woman was most apologetic and said that she could see I had been waiting a while and that she would bump up my booking to priority 1.

At 4.15pm, I called again.  The man I spoke to was incredibly rude and told me no driver had accepted my booking yet and that they were very busy, and I would just have to wait.  It was about this point that I started to lose it.  Having already called twice, and been put on hold for 5 minutes each time, I was getting more and more angry.  When he then announced to me that I could flag a taxi down on the street, then call them back to cancel my booking, that was it.  I hung up and promptly burst into tears.  I tried really hard to hold it together.  But I failed miserably.  And I hate crying.

I managed to call another cab company (we only have 2 in Melbourne) and they told me it would be a 15 minute wait.  By this stage it was after 4.30pm and I had been standing out on the street like an idiot for over an hour.

The boy called me a few minutes later, and as soon as I couldn’t speak on the phone (because I was busy trying not to burst into tears all over again) he said he would come and get me, and to wait right there.  He showed up 20 minutes later and I eventually got to my car, nearly two hours after I’d left the office.

The reason for the melt down?  Anger and frustration.  The second person at the taxi company was incredibly rude to me, and I could not for the life of me get one single taxi to stop on the road to pick me up.  I felt completely helpless, and that’s not something I deal with very well.

I had to keep my sunglasses on when I went in to collect my car.  I’m sure the people thought I was mad.

And Black Cabs?  I will never call you again, ever.  You are dead to me.

12 responses to “Losing it

  1. Barb Mills Gretter February 17, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Oh, I hate it when I feel like that. Thankfully, you have a good man. And those are very BIG words nowadays. I also do not cry often. Hate it. I hate feeling not in control, for whatever the reason. Which is mostly how I have felt with Whitey being so sick. Even doing everything I can, it has not been good enough to make him well again and that is just not acceptable.

    Stupid cab company. Buggers to them.

  2. kevin g February 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    have a pleasant day

  3. debstar February 17, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Sounds like you could have done with my left-over Kit Kat. It’s been eaten by the way. A letter to the taxi company is in order, not that it will change anything.

  4. Zim and Dave February 18, 2012 at 9:55 am

    My head would have exploded!

  5. Poppy Q February 19, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    I hate poor service like that – completely unncecessary. You should write a letter, and don’t forget to mention that you have a blog and will be letting everbody know.

    Love the pictures of the goon on the right hand side – awesome!!

    Julie and Poppy Q

  6. Trish February 20, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    I HATE that sort of thing, because afterwards you realise that you should have pulled the plug on the whole situation far earlier, so then you feel a bit foolish, and then that’s compounded by the tears. Similar thing happened to me a couple of weeks ago. I was kept waiting, and waiting, and waiting for an appointment. I kept saying to myself “it’ll just be five more minutes” and I ended up wasting an entire hour just hoping… SO frustrating.

  7. Shmoo February 21, 2012 at 6:28 am

    Been there, done that. Shrieked, wailed, and literally threw myself to the ground in a total melt-down when I spilled an entire venti latte on the cloth driver seat of my 1 month old new truck… in a crowded parking lot. It wasn’t pretty.

  8. Denise February 22, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Oh, how terrible! I normally wait for taxis, call the company back, but I never had to wait for 45 min! Let alone 2 hours! It’s incredible that a city like Melbourne has only 2 taxi companies!
    On the ther hand, I understand your tears. It was not only anger and frustration. It was an unjust treatment, like the feeling of being able to do nothing against injustice, waste of time and the taxi company man being so rude – impolite!
    You are so right to cross Black Cabs out of your list. I would have done the same. Zara stole from me £44 and wrote me stupid emails, and I will never buy there anymore.

  9. Kate February 24, 2012 at 1:42 am

    Tracey, I hate to be the one to say this…but how dare you expect a TAXI service to actually TAXI you somewhere…I mean seriously…they just decorate the streets, right? Next time, call a flower company, you’ll probably have better luck!

    This is also the reason it should be banned for cars to need any type of repair!!

