Even more hungry

Remember a few weeks ago when I mentioned that I got my long-awaited-for KitchenAid Artisan Mixer?  Well, I thought the four-day Easter weekend would be the perfect opportunity to give it a good road test.  So I made a six-layer neapolitan cake.  And oh boy was it good.

I took my inspiration from Sweetapolita‘s Neapolitan 5-Layer Birthday Cake, and tweaked the design ever so slightly.  I made mine six layers (well, why wouldn’t you?) and did vanilla frosting instead of strawberry.  That was just too much pink for me.

I made a standard chocolate cake, an angel food cake, and then discovered I didn’t know how to make a strawberry cake.  So I found Rosie’s Stawberry Layer Cake and used that recipe.  Mine turned out not quite as pink as hers, but it’s definitely strawberry flavoured which is the most important thing.

And then the frosting.  Sweet baby cheeses, who knew it could be so hard?  I decided to make Swiss Meringue Buttercream ( I blame Rosie – I was using her cake recipe and it just seemed to make sense to use her frosting recipe too).  So I measured out the 4 million eggwhites and 35 cups of sugar, chopped the 18 kilos of butter, and began.  Getting the sugar to dissolve in the heated eggwhites without cooking them was the easy part.  When I put the bowl in the mixer and started whipping the meringue, I very quickly realised that actually, my bowl is too small and I was in danger of there being a river of meringue running through my kitchen.  No problem, I split the mix into two and kept going.

The first batch turned out perfectly.  I filled my cake layers with it and it looked like this:

Cake 02

Which as far as I’m concerned was a good start. Then I tried to whip up the second batch of buttercream. I tried for three days straight. Eventually, I gave up and tipped it out. All those egg whites! All that sugar and butter! But it was beyond saving.

Since I’d used almost all my available eggs and certainly wasn’t going back to the shop for more, I had to use a different frosting for the outside of the cake. So I made this recipe I found on Tasty Kitchen, and it’s strange because it has flour in it but goddamn it’s good! It is known as That’s The Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had. And it is awesome.

And then my cake looked like this:

Cake 03

And then when we finally cut into it last night it looked like this:

Cake 04

And the world rejoiced at the gloriousness of it all. As did I.

4 responses to “Even more hungry

  1. Barb @iPhoneographi April 10, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Sweet baby cheeses, that looks egg-strordinary! Do want!

  2. The Cartoonist April 11, 2012 at 3:26 am

    ok, now I have to make that frosting… which means I have to make cake… which means eating the cake… the sacrifices I make in the name of discovery.

  3. trish25 April 11, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    That looks AMAZING but I can see how the frosting must have driven you crazy. How many egg whites???

  4. Denise April 12, 2012 at 2:35 am

    So your title is “even more hungry” and now I am hungry! For that cake! It looks amazing! I love cakes, by the way! Oh, dear… I need to eat it!

