What keeps you up at night?

Not the scary stuff, or the stuff you worry about.

What books have you read that you just couldn’t put down?

My all-time favourite book EVER is Catch 22 by Joseph Heller.  I remember reading it late into the night and having to physically force myself to put it down so I could stop laughing and go to sleep.  I would lie in bed shaking with laughter at that book.  A classic.

One of my other favourite books is To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  I had to read it in school one year and adored it.  Atticus Finch was a man ahead of his time.

Another book I really enjoyed was Bridget Jones’s Diary.  I was reading that on a tram coming home from work one day and laughing so much that the woman sitting across from me asked what I was reading, as I was obviously enjoying it so much she wanted to read it too.  Totally ruined by the movie.  Don’t get me started on that.

I loved The Hobbit when I was younger (and still do) but for years refused to read The Lord of the Rings trilogy.  No, I don’t know why either.  I’ve rectified that now and have to admit that The Return of the King is one of the few movies to do justice to the book it was based on.  In fact all three of them were good in movie form.

For entertainment I read Clive Cussler and Janet Evanovich.  And Who magazine, which is published as People in the USA.

I am not a huge fan of autobiographies although recently I read The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do which was excellent; also quite funny.  I enjoyed The Fry Chronicles by Stephen Fry, and the biography of Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson which I received for Christmas.

What do you love to read?

4 responses to “What keeps you up at night?

  1. Barb @iPhoneographi April 13, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    My all-time favorite books are The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings. I can not imagine that any others will ever knock them off the top. And I agree about the movies. I was excited and worried at the same time when I heard they were making the LotR movies. Peter Jackson did them justice. And NZ was the perfect place to shoot! Knowing he’s also the Director for The Hobbit, currently in production, allows me to look forward to the movie. For a change.

    My other favorites: The Harry Potter seriess, although the first few were far better for me. The Left Behind series. All of them. Loved them. Most anything by Luanne Rice, when I am in the mood for a little light romance in New England. Dan Brown. Some John Grishom.

    I still haven’t finished the Steve Jobs biography. It’s on my bedside table and every time I pick it up I fall asleep, so I’ll pack it and finish it up on my mini-cruise to the Bahamas…

    which is in 6 days and 11 hours. Roughly. 😉

  2. Shmoo April 13, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    About all I read are autobiographies now, but yes, Catch-22 is great, even better when you read it while serving in the Air Force (you don’t laugh as much… its like watching Office Space and realizing that is your office). You MUST read I Am Ozzy, by Ozzy Osbourne. I nearly peed myself reading that.

  3. jen April 15, 2012 at 9:08 am

    i read WAY too many murder mysteries.

