Antarctica

On Sunday, we went to Antarctica. No, I’m not even joking. We booked ourselves on a scenic flight to Antarctica and it was wonderful.

This is our plane, an Airbus A380:
A380 01

This is my seat:
A380 02
(We were in First class. It was pretty special.)

We spent four hours flying from Sydney to Antarctica, then four hours flying around over Antarctica, then a further four hours flying back to Sydney.  It was a long day but totally worth it.  The scenery was amazing.  Here, see for yourself.

Antarctica 01

Antarctica 03

Antarctica 06

Antarctica 10

Antarctica 16

You can click on any of those photos above to be taken to my Flickr photostream and see the whole set.  If you ever get the chance to do this, I highly recommend it.  Ring Karen at Antarctica Sightseeing Flights and do it!

10 responses to “Antarctica

  1. Kate January 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Lovely photos, how cool of a trip! Did you see Santa? He lives in Antarctica, right?

  2. Randi January 27, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    That is REALLY awesome!! If I ever get down that way I’ll definitely check it out. 🙂

  3. Gracie January 27, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Inspiring vistas, hints to the beginning of time. I can’t help but wonder…Which shoes did you choose for this truly auspicious occasion?

    Ps. You know it’s me, right? 🙂

  4. Trish January 28, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Wow! I’m so envious! I want to go one day – on a boat – but this might do in the meantime. GREAT photos!

  5. Debstar January 28, 2010 at 8:42 am

    You are a lucky, lucky girl.

  6. Steve and Kat January 28, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    That is so cool! Definitely once in a lifetime.

  7. Milo and Alfie January 29, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I’m betting you wore Snow-Boots! LOL! Fabulous scenery. And most of it untouched by humans.

    Jan x

  8. Noll January 30, 2010 at 12:08 am

    How wonderful and exciting. Thank you for sharing your journey.

  9. Laura February 2, 2010 at 9:22 am

    This is totally freakin’ so cool it’s beyond words. Seriously. “Oh, Sunday we went to Antarctica.” I only wish I could say something rad like that one day, and not be lying or just high on Nyquil Cough Syrup.

  10. Pingback: dustbury.com » From the Department of Great Opening Lines